search
search

New Hampshire Final And Unclaimed Paychecks Laws

Final And Unclaimed Paychecks Laws In New Hampshire

>>> About Final Paychecks Laws In New Hampshire

State and federal law requires that employers give departing employees their final paycheck within a specified time period or - if a paycheck goes unclaimed - to follow state escheatment rules. The rules in New Hampshire for both are included below.

New Hampshire final paycheck rulesNew Hampshire's Requirements For When To Send Final Paychecks

New Hampshire employers are required to provide the final paycheck as follows:
  • If The Employee Quits:
    The next scheduled payday or within 72 hours
  • If The Employer Terminates The Employee:
    Within 72 hours
What Should Be Included In A Final Paycheck In New Hampshire

The final paycheck should contain the employee's regular wages from the most recent pay period, plus other types of compensation such as commissions, bonuses, and accrued sick and vacation pay. Employers can withhold money from the employee's last paycheck if the employee owes your organization.

For More Info On Final Paychecks

For more about Final Paychecks, go to https://www.payrolltrainingcenter.com/payroll-requirements-for-terminated-employees-wt1000388


>>> About Unclaimed Paycheck Laws In New Hampshire

Believe it or not, you just can't keep a paycheck that an ex-employee doesn't take. Even if a check is abandoned, the employer has no right to void the check and keep the funds.

Technically, unclaimed paychecks are subject to 'escheat' laws as unclaimed property under the laws of the state where the employee last worked. This means that employers are required to follow their state's laws for submitting unclaimed paychecks to the state. Not doing so can subject employers to fines and penalties.
New Hampshire final paycheck rules
New Hampshire's Requirements For Unclaimed Paychecks

The following are the reporting and recordkeeping requirements for New Hampshire's unclaimed paycheck laws:
  • Recordkeeping Requirements
    Employers must retain a record of the names and last known addresses of payees for ten years after reporting to the state
  • Reporting Requirements
    New Hampshire employers must report and remit unclaimed wages annually. Typically, the report for unclaimed wages must be sent before Nov. 1 of each year for wages unclaimed as of June 30 of that year
With regard to recordkeeping, New Hampshire employers should speak with their legal counsel to determine processes and procedures re how many attempts the employer should make to contact ex-employees.

For More Info On Unclaimed Paychecks

For more about Unclaimed Paychecks, go to https://www.payrolltrainingcenter.com/rules-for-unclaimed-paychecks-wt1000338

Recommended Training Courses For Final And Unclaimed Paychecks:

Find Seminars, Webinars, And Online Training In Your Area
Designations / Certifications
Improve your knowledge and industry standing!
Professional Development
Products & Services to help manage and grow your career!

Contact Info For Final And Unclaimed Paycheck Requirements For New Hampshire

Department of Labor
95 Pleasant St
Concord, NH 03301
603-271-3176
www.nh.gov/labor/





References and Disclaimers:

This information is based on a variety of state laws and regulations, and is subject to change. The PayrollTrainingCenter makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, the PayrollTrainingCenter is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for any inaccuracies contained herein.

Paycheck Fundamentals Training & Certification Program



About Us Contact Us Privacy Add To eMail List My Account
FacebookPayrollTrainingCenter.com. 5755 North Point Parkway, Suite 227 | Alpharetta, GA 30022 | 770-410-1219 | support@PayrollTrainingCenter.com
Copyright PayrollTrainingCenter.com 2018 | Web Site Development by OTAU